Bijou’s Class of 2017

Back to Article
Back to Article

Bijou’s Class of 2017

2017 Bijou Graduates

2017 Bijou Graduates

2017 Bijou Graduates

2017 Bijou Graduates

Mallery Seber, Staff Writer

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

The Bijou School, a District 11 alternative high school, held  a graduation ceremony on May 26, 2017.  Bijou has grown this year from 105 students in the Fall of the 2016-2017 school year to over 135 students in the Spring of 2017.  This increase was seen in the 2017 graduating class, the largest class ever to graduate from Bijou at 57 students.   Over 80% of the students at Bijou are enrolled in a career course in collaboration with the Career Pathways program co-located on the R.J. Wasson Academic Campus.


The Campus Auditorium was the site of the festivities this year.  The Mistress of the Ceremony was Bijou Counselor, Kris Gray, who welcomed the graduates, friends, family, and officials attending the ceremony.  Mr. Jim Mason, Vice-President of the Colorado Springs School District Board of Education addressed the gathering with insights for success.

Two students, Mekayla Wilson and Tyler Vetter, shared their educational journeys.  This included their journey in finding Bijou and the subsequent skills for success they learned while at the school.


Bijou teachers and staff presented the following Awards to graduates:

  • Phoenix Award to Sloan Cummings
  • Outstanding Determination to Nathanael Clamp and Tyniece Graham
  • Dragon’s Gem Award to Joseph Wright
  • Bright Future Award to Keilelani Almario and Vaclav Vlcek

The RJWAC and Bijou Car Club sponsor the annual Car Show on Campus.  Proceeds from this event go to scholarships to Automotive students.  The 2017 recipients were Benjamin “Michael” Muchmore , pursuing studies at Pikes Peak Community College, and Robert “Bobby” Davis, who completed his high school courses in March 2017, has completed his first quarter at WyoTech, formerly Wyoming Technical Institute.


Principal Kathryn Presnal presented the Principal’s Award of Excellence to Mekayla Wilson.

After the Bijou Year in Review and Graduates Presentation, diplomas were conferred on the class of 2017.

A cake and punch reception afterward capped this community-centered Bijou event.


The Bijou School Graduation Class of 2017

Keilelani Almario

Zachariah Bauman

Andre Beacham

Jareth Christmon

Nathanael Clamp

Donte Clark

Jesus Covarrubias

Sloan Cummings

Joshua Cunningham

Ericson Dahl

Phinehas Daniels

Tyler Doelle

Riley Easler

Alli Flannagan

Ryan Ford

Leena Fruean

Tyniece Graham

Taylor Grant

Leevi Greenawalt

Ossian Hall

Keegan Henderson

Marcus Herrero-Cortes

Seth Hoderland

Robert Davis, IV

Diamond Jumper

Jesse Kasten

Chynna Kendrick

Michelle Lopez

Tyrell Lynch

John MacDonald

Myra Malmgren

Christian Matthews

Collin Matthys

Janay Medina

Isaiah Moore

Benjamin “Michael” Muchmore

Jayson Murray

Lino Poloa, Jr.

Jacob Porter

Gabriel Russo

Lauryn Seber

Meredith Simmons

Alexander Snow

Johnathan Tierney

Abishai Vallance

Tyler Vetter

Tadeo Villavicencio Ramirez

Vaclav Vlcek

Kaleb Wiederholt

Justin Wilder

Antonio Willow

Mekayla Wilson

Deonandre Woods

Joseph Wright

Gabriel Young

Megan Zich

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Mallery Seber, Staff Writer

Mallery is an outgoing, adventurous, sophomore. Her hobbies include boxing, long-boarding, and overall just being with her friends. Her passion is cosmetology,...

Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.


Navigate Left
  • Bijou’s Class of 2017


    2018 Bijou Graduation Ceremony

  • Bijou’s Class of 2017


    Recycling Initiative at Bijou

  • Bijou’s Class of 2017

    Career Pathways

    FCCLA Competition

  • Bijou’s Class of 2017


    Teens, Phones, and Focus

  • Bijou’s Class of 2017


    Juniors Graduating Early

  • Bijou’s Class of 2017


    Library Maker Space

  • Bijou’s Class of 2017


    End Of Year Barbecue: What You Need To Know

  • Bijou’s Class of 2017

    Opinion & Editorial

    Should Roy J. Wasson Academic Campus Schools Start Later?

  • Bijou’s Class of 2017


    Students Join National Walk Out

  • Bijou’s Class of 2017


    Parker Earns Full Ride Scholarship

Navigate Right
Bijou’s Class of 2017